Management of Temple

Shri Gopal Jagannath Tambwekar approached Peshwas and Gaikwars and requested them to grant lands for the maintenance, (puja, worship, prosperity, naivedya and services and ceremonials etc) for the expenses of the deity from the State . Thereupon, Peshwa Madhavrao Ballal Pradhan, Peshwa of Poona granted the entire village of 'Dakor' of Taluka Thasra, District Kaira and Damaji Gaikwar's son Sayajirao Gaikwar of Baroda granted in Inam (Offered as prize) village 'Kanjari', Prant Madhudha of Gujarat. At that time i.e. in 1769 A,D. half of Kaira District was with Peshwas of Poona and half was with Gaikwars of Baroda. At present, village Kanjari is in Nadiad Taluka of Kaira District. The two entire villages of Dakor and Kanjari were given in Inam to Shri Gopal Jagannath Tambwekar hereditarily for the services of the deity, Shri Ranchhodraiji. Both these villages are known as Dakor Sansthan. Sansthan Scheme was framed in the Year 1879 for the necessary, essential and entire expenses, services and ceremonials of the deity Shri Ranchhodraiji and Goddess Laxmiji which were exclusively met with from the fixed income of the revenues of the two villages of Dakor and Kanjari and was later on registered as a Public Trust. It is the original foundation trust of Shri Ranchhodraiji Maharaj.
Since 1905, the management of the temple rests with the Temple Committee. In pursuance of a decision of the Privy Council, Dakor Temple Scheme was finally approved by the Privy Council in 1916. In 1952, it was registered as a Public Religious Trust. Thus the Temple Trust is not administered by the Government, but a Committee consisting of vaishnav devotees of Lord Krishna conducts its day to day administration under the supervision of Manager as per the provisions laid down under the Dakor Temple Scheme. The Committee consists of three nominees of the District Court from Vaishnavas . one hereditary representative of Tambwekar family and one from the Sevaks (priests). The priests are of three sub-castes of Brahmins, viz. Khedaval, Shrigod and Tapodhan. At present families of these priests are about 232 in number. The term of the trustee expires every ten year. At present following are the trustees:-

Vaishnav Trustees

Shri B.J.Divan, Chairman, Retired Chief Justice, Gujarat High Court, Ahmedabad.

Shri I.P.Shah, Industrialist, Ahmedabad.

Shri D.G.Desai, Retired Secretary, Gujarat Legislative Assembly, Gandhinagar at present at Ahmedabad.

Hereditary Trustee: Shri B.G.Tambwekar, Tambwakar's Kot, Dakor.

Sevak Trustee: Shri K.M.Dave, Dakor.

Manager: Shri B.J.Pathak, Dakor.

Member trustee: Arvindbhai Chimanlal Sutaria

Temple committee also maintains a Gaushala. It's strength is 600 cattle. Cows are not sold. They are maintained throughout their lifetime. Bulls are given free of cost to needy Gram Panchayats for breeding purposes. Milk of the cows is utilized for the purpose of the deity and the surplus is disposed off by turning it into curd-butter milk and distributing it free of cost amongst the inhabitants of the town and vaishnava visitors and padyatris during full-moon days . The Temple Committee intends, making the temple self-supporting for its daily requirements of ghee, in preparing food articles as offerings to the deity and has chalked out a plan for increasing the strength of the cowherd from 600 to nearly 4000. Keeping this in view, the grazing land of 1800 acres at present at the disposal of the Temple Committee will fall short. It is also planning to construct a new Gaushala Complex with all necessary facilities. The cost would approximate roughly to rupees ninety lakhs at the present rates. Out of the net surplus of total yearly income after deducting the expenses for bhog, prasad, naivedya and establishment fifty per cent is distributed amongst priests' families and remaining percent is carried over to the reserve fund . Fixed properties, trust funds, ornaments, utensils and dress of the deity are carried over to Capital. The temple has an annual income of over one crore of rupees and the expenses are also round about the same amount. The accounts are statutorily audited by an approved firm of Chartered Accountant and submitted to the Charity Commissioner and District Court The Temple Committee also administers its two sister Trusts namely, (1) Shri Ranchhodraiji Maharaj Mandir Gaushala Trust and (2) Thakorpura Trust. Donations, received by Shri Ranchhodraiji Maharaj Mandir Gaushala Trust are exempted under Section 80 G of income Tax Act.